All works

Shan shui

Shan shui is a piece for bass clarinet and percussion solo with orchestral accompaniment, commissioned by the Ostrava Center for New Music to be performed by the Ostrava New Orchestra and conducted by Petr Kotík. The piece was premiered at the DOX+ Hall in Prague on November 15th, 2022. The two soloists were Irvin Venyš (double bass) and Martin Opršál (percussion). 

The Chinese term used for the title literally means "mountain water", but it refers to the traditional form of Chinese landscape painting, extending the calligraphic inspirations of the earlier piece between mists (brushstrokes) into a more complex web of metaphors and the large-scale canvas of the orchestra.

Click on MORE below for the video.

Work type: Composer

Medium: instruments

Length: 20'

When: November 2022